Cities Support Programme

Assistance to South African Metros in the Formulation, Implementation and Institutionalisation of Township Economic Development Strategies Programmes & Projects

SLF is the lead agency in a National Treasury (NT) Cities Support Programme (CSP) technical assistance project. The Township Economic Development (TED) project provides three years of multi-disciplinary technical support to five metropolitan municipalities. This project seeks to pilot a transversal, participatory approach to TED to strategise, plan, fund, implement and monitor projects within specific townships to achieve a meaningful economic development impact and institutionalise TED in the metros.

The participating metros are eThekwini Metro (Pinetown South), the City of Tshwane (Hammanskraal/Temba), the City of Ekurhuleni (Thembisa), Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality (New Brighton/KwaZakhele) and the City of Cape Town (Delft).

In this project SLF will build on its experience in developing area-based strategies for township revitalization, (Cities of Johannesburg, Cape Town and Port Elizabeth) and extend its close partnerships with municipal government, civil society organisations, private sector corporations and our history of extensive community and stakeholder collaboration to develop a range of economic, infrastructure and implementation plans.

Using extensive geospatial, survey and qualitative interview processes and participatory action learning methodologies, the project will generate area-based development strategies and enhance the CSP in capacitating metros to institutionalise township economy development.

We have completed the first phase of this work, where we established an empirical baseline for each site and identified eight priority project opportunities per pilot site.

Related Resources:

The Situational Analysis Reports are available here:

·        Delft Situational Analysis Report
·        Hammanskraal Situational Analysis Report
·        New Brighton Situational Analysis Report
·        Pinetown South Situational Analysis Report
·        Tembisa Situational Analysis Report

For a brief overview of this our first phase and priority project opportunities, see this poster set we created. 

We also showcased our work in the Metro TED Symposium in August 2021.